Something I was never expecting

Sunday, December 4, 2011 at 2:45pm (est)

Hiyha Gang!

I have been spending my days trying to figure out what I would tell ya’ll about here at “my place” *grin*   For the ones that have graced me with deciding to follow me….you poor people you….heehee….I wont go into all that you already know.  Suffice to say I am fighting a battle I never really thought I would ever hafta.  I spend my days with IVS and the porcelain sacrificial bowl….all while losing my hair…..my appetite….and falling asleep at the drop of a hat….which in itself is weird since I have always been, even diagnosed, a chronic inomniac….days and days without sleeping…..so thats weird.

However, today while I was contemplating just what to say here, how to get started…..I received a phone call…and here I may need to give some background so bear with me…..I am married, soon to be divorced, to a man who is a paid Captain of the local  City fire dept and the Chief of a Volunteer FD….for ten plus years I trained and ran calls with the fire dept….until multiple health problems put an end to that….however, I stayed involved by being elected to the Board of Directors as the Secretary/Treasurer and have been doing that for the last 15 plus years.  Now, with that groundwork layed out for you……back to today….

As I said, I was pondering just what I should talk about with ya’ll and not bore you to tears.  I rec’d an early more phone call that started a thinking spiral that I cannot stop…..The Chief called to let me know that one of our firefighters had died in the line of duty Saturday night/Sunday morning.   I was stunned I couldnt say a thing….my mind went blank….finally, I asked who….and when I was told I was again struck speechless and then I began to mutter over and over Oh my God, Oh my God……and then had presence of mind to ask what had happened.  It turns out he fell from a bridge…long story.   After ending that phone call, there have been several during the day (the dept has never had someone killed in the line of duty, not in all its 44 years)……

I begin to think of myself and my “problems” and I became ashamed….life can be taken so quickly and I have been given a chance to fight for mine and all I can do is whine about how tired I am, how I feel like a pin cushion, how I am tired of bleching….blah, blah, blah…..

This man died in a split second of time, no warning, no complaining, no second chance…….

So, I am going to be spending the next few days on the phone making arrangements, making decisions for a man who died with honor and dignity.

I only hope when my time comes I can do the same.

Sorry, for my “first” post to be depressing and sad but this man, and his family,  deserves your thoughts, prayers, etc……

I will try to be more jo like in the next post but this was something I was never expecting.

luv & hugs to all,

the jo

4 Responses to “Something I was never expecting”

  1. Susan C. Says:

    Sweetie, you must be whining pretty quietly because all I see and hear is you being amazingly upbeat, positive, and supportive of everyone else. I admire you tremendously. I’m so sorry to hear about the death of the fireman. It is always tragic when a good man dies, but it is so poignant when it is in the line of duty. Big hugs.

    Luv you!
    Susan

  2. Ro Says:

    You call it whinning, I call it your battle cry! “When the going gets tough, the tough get going” We don’t know how long we have on earth, we can only try to take each day as it comes and be grateful we are here to see it. Keep slaying those dragons
    My prayers go out to the fireman’s family

Leave a Reply

